Leash training help

Discussion in 'Behaviour & Training' started by brooklyn218, May 2, 2016.

1. brooklyn218

brooklyn218 Member

Hi everyone!
    My husband and I recently adopted a rescue puppy who happens to be half mastiff. Needless to say, he is growing at an extremely rapid rate. He is still only 8 months but we are trying to leash train him to walk in 'heel' position. As he is a puppy, he still likes to pull and try to venture out wherever his little heart desires.
    We need to leash train him fast and we have been working on this for awhile. Soon he will be too strong for me to take on walks alone unless we get this issue fixed!
    Please help =(
    Oh also, any tips on him jumping on strangers would be appreciated. He loves people and gets a little too happy to see them!

brooklyn218, May 2, 2016
  2. brooklyn218

IcyBC Well-Known Member

I am not a dog expert and in fact, a first time owner of mix dog! He is half boxer and half pit bull. He weights more than me :) He seems to do well walking on leash with my sons, and we turn to Ceasar Milan's videos a lot to learn what we need.

You probably need the type of leash control that sits on the top, in the back of your dog's neck, rather than a regular leash. As fas as jumping on people go, you will have to tell people to knee him down. Only the one he jumps on can teach him that. This worked for me when I visited my daughter and her dog jumped on me. No matter how many times my daughter said it, he won't listen to her. So I took the matter into my hands, knock him off and command him not to jump on me. It worked!

IcyBC, May 9, 2016
  3. brooklyn218

Corzhens Well-Known Member