Do you use a certain kind or brand of shampoo for your dog?

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by wahcashmom, Dec 17, 2011.

1. wahcashmom

wahcashmom Well-Known Member

Do you use a certain kind or brand of shampoo for your dog?

I have been using the Adams shampoo for several years and I think it is great, just wish it has a better smell to it.

wahcashmom, Dec 17, 2011
  2. wahcashmom

MakingCents Well-Known Member

We don't use a lot of shampoo. Fortunately for us, since he hates baths, my dog doesnt get too dirty. We typically give him 1 or 2 baths a year so we just get some cheap shampoo at the pet store. In between that we use grooming wipes and that seems to work good enough.

MakingCents, Dec 17, 2011
  3. wahcashmom

Victor Leigh Well-Known Member

Just one or two baths a year? My Candy can't do with less than once a week. Longer than that she will be scratching all the time. Maybe it's because Bangkeaws are born to live with water.

Victor Leigh, Dec 17, 2011
  4. wahcashmom

MakingCents Well-Known Member

Yeah he has a pretty low-maintenance coat which is good since he hates the bath so much. He's a mixed breed, and one of his breeds is a water loving animal since he has webbed feet but he hates the water.

MakingCents, Dec 18, 2011
  5. wahcashmom

Webbed feet? Yes, that's the mark of a water dog like the Labrador Retriever. Strangely, Bangkeaws don't have webbed feet. I know because I have looked.

Victor Leigh, Dec 18, 2011
  6. wahcashmom

King Browny Well-Known Member

Well, yes. I use mild dog soap because there’s a dog soap that dries their skin and I think made them feel so itchy after bathing. I also use a dog powder when they soak up but it’s only when they got ticks or fleas from the neighboring dogs. Because I saw them licking their furs and I thought the chemicals may be bad for their health. That’s why I also make it a point that I rinse them thoroughly because I don’t want them licking soap remainders.

King Browny, Dec 19, 2011