Do you keep a pet first aid kit handy?

Discussion in 'Health & Nutrition' started by Melody, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Melody

Melody Well-Known Member

I came across this list today. It made me realize that I don't really have many of these items on hand to take care of emergencies. I could clean a wound in a pinch. My previous dog hurt her pads so often that I was an old pro at leg wounds. I've got the dog hood if needed. I keep Benadryl on hand for Misha's allergic reactions. But, I don't have much else.

Do you have a pet first aid kit? If so, did you buy a special kit or did you collect your own supplies to have them handy? What would you add to this list?
    http://www.avma.org/firstaid/supplies.asp

Melody, Jul 21, 2012
  2. Melody

Jessi Well-Known Member

Hmm, no, I don't. I've dealt with injuries a few times, but just used a regular first aid kit without anything pet-specific. I do like that they have a leash on the list. We keep ours in a specific place at all times anyway, so it's not hard to find, but it could be a good idea to tuck one in the kit so it's handy in the event of an emergency you and you don't have to leave the dog again to go get it.

Jessi, Jul 22, 2012
  3. Melody

argon_0 Well-Known Member

No I don't but I may get a muzzle as Mishka can get cranky when she is in pain. I do have some anti inflammatories from when she injured her leg an have used them again. Then there are common use tweezers and tea tree oil to remove ticks and lastly a sprain bandage in case of snake bite.
    Food for thought.

argon_0, Jul 22, 2012
  4. Melody

Jessi Well-Known Member

I haven't even considered a muzzle. I don't own one. :S

If they're in pain and out of character, though, then I can see how that might be a necessary precaution. *adds to shopping list*

Jessi, Jul 22, 2012
  5. Melody

argon_0 Well-Known Member