Do you buy your dog food or make it?

Discussion in 'Health & Nutrition' started by jowjo5, Feb 15, 2013.

1. jowjo5

jowjo5 Active Member

I was wondering about making dog food for our guys here at home. We have large breed dogs, Bernese Mountain dogs and we buy their food. But I keep reading more and more about people making their own food because it is healthier? Some claim it is cheaper, but I have to wonder about the time it takes as I have never done this before.

I have read about the raw diet for dogs, is that the same as when people make their own food for their dogs?

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Is it hard to do? Cost effective? Healthier?

jowjo5, Feb 15, 2013
  2. jowjo5

Jessi Well-Known Member

Jessi, Feb 15, 2013
    argon_0 likes this.
  3. jowjo5

jowjo5 Active Member

Great post, I think I may do some research on large breeds and making the food. I just wonder how much I would need for tow large Berner's!
    Could be a lot of food to prepare, but then again I love these boys so much that why not right?
    At the very least I can research it and go from there.

jowjo5, Feb 15, 2013
  4. jowjo5

Jessi Well-Known Member

How much do your dogs weigh?

Here's a handy calculator for averaging out about how much you need: http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-feeding-tips/dog-food-calculator/

And if you're going to make your own for big dogs, I highly recommend buying turkeys and meat on sale. I can get them for under a dollar a pound usually, which makes it quite affordable when mixing with other bulk bought items (like rice and large bags or cans of green beans and peas). I also get eggs at Aldis for around a dollar a dozen (much cheaper than elsewhere) and they're an amazing source of protein (and the shells give other nutrients, too).

Jessi, Feb 16, 2013
  5. jowjo5

zararina Well-Known Member

We do feed our dog human foods which is more cost effective. We gave them rice, meat and vegetables.

zararina, Feb 16, 2013
  6. jowjo5